My New Favorite Breakfast

I love oatmeal, but it’s not something I normally want to eat in the summer months.  Inspired by Angela at Oh She Glows, I made Vegan Overnight Oats!  And no, I’m not a vegan in practice, I’m just lactose intolerant.  The texture is really nice, a little bit chewy, but not at all sticky the way cooked oats are.  I use a little bit of light coconut milk, and it makes me think I’m eating ice kachang.  It feels like a light breakfast but it’s very satisfying and I like how quick it is.

It was easy, delish, and calorically-speaking, not that bad.

Vegan Overnight Oats

In a bowl, throw together–

1/2 cup dry oatmeal (120 cals)

1/2 cup light coconut milk (70 cals)

1/2 cup unsweetened milk (35 cals)

1 tsp of chia seeds (the new superfood!)

Let sit overnight in the fridge.

The next morning, I added some fresh strawberries. And because I don’t eat “normal” sugar, yes I did add a little bit of artificial sweetener.

One response to “My New Favorite Breakfast

  1. inkitchenstadium

    You gave me the idea to cook my oats in coconut water for the flavor. I just made a post about oatmeal and yours was recommended as related.

Leave a Reply

